John C. Young Scholars Program Committee Members

2020-2021 Committee Members

Amy Frederick, Co-Chair, Assistant Professor of Art History

Azita Osanloo, Co-Chair, Assistant Professor of English

Sara Egge, Claude D. Pottinger Associate Professor of History

Mark Galatowitsch, Assistant Professor of Biology

Sarah Murray, Associate Professor of Education

Chris Paskewich, Associate Professor of Politics

Jeffrey Shenton, Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology


2020-2021 John C. Young Scholars

Princess Allotey, Four School Terms Traversing Three Continents: A Comparative Study of the Educational Landscape in Ghana, Singapore, and the United States (Advisor, Dr. Sarah Murray).

Paula Armitage, Drawing the Mind: Scientific Illustration and the Drawings of Santiago Ramon y Cajal (Advisor, Dr. Amy Frederick). 

Anna Bushong, Climate Change and Local Impacts: Evaluating the Interaction between Water Temperature and Nitrate Toxicity in Freshwater Snails (Advisor, Dr. Mark Galatowitsch)

River Fuchs, GUN SHOW THIS WEEKEND! An Ethnography of Gun Shows in the Bluegrass (Advisor, Dr. Jeffrey Shenton).

Kate Himick, The American History of the House Sparrow: A Case Study for the Presence of Social Bias in Modern Invasion Biology (Advisor, Dr. Sarah Egge).

Roop Patel, American Political Beliefs at Cross-Cultural Cleavages: Perspectives from the Indian-American Electorate (Advisor, Dr. Chris Paskewich).

Melody Roth, Chronicles of Suburbia: A Creative Exploration of Adolescent Isolation (Advisor, Dr. Azita Osanloo).